Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
cover image
Transformation and Healing
Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness
Rating :
Author(s) :
Pages :
Pub Date :
Edition(s) at Erowid :
Publisher :
Parallax Press
Transformation and Healing presents the ancient teachings of the Buddha on how to maintain mindfulness of the body, the feelings, the mind, and the objects of the mind, in order to live fully and realize liberation and joy in each moment. Three translations of the Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness are presented in this book, along with Thich Nhat Hanh's insightful commentary, which includes twenty very practical exercises, or contemplations, to aid in the practice of mindfulness in daily life.

We learn how to be intimate with ourselves, how to deal with anger, jealousy, and trauma; how to nurture the best qualities in our children, spouse, and friends; and how to greet our own death and the death of our loved ones with compassion and equanimity. This is a book about transforming and healing ourselves so that we can be a resource for the transformation and healing of others.

Along with the Sutra on the Full Awareness of Breathing and the Sutra on knowing the Better Way to Live Alone, the Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness is one of the three most essential teachings of the Buddha.

Thich Nhat Hanh is a Vietnamese Buddhist monk, scholar, poet, and peace activist. He is the founder of Van Hanh Buddhist University in Saigon, and the author of 75 books including Old Path White Clouds, a biography of the Buddha, Being Peace, and The Miracle of Mindfulness. At his community, Plum Village in France, he teaches, writes and gardens., and he leads retreats worldwide on "the art of mindful living."