Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
Review Erowid at
Help us be a "Top Rated Nonprofit" again this year and spread
honest info (good or bad) about psychedelics & other psychoactive drugs.
("Share Your Story" link. Needs quick login creation but no verification of contact info)
Raja Yoga
the science of physical and mental control

Often called the "royal road", raja yoga offers a comprehensive method for controlling the waves of thought by turning our mental and physical energy into spiritual energy.

The Eight Limbs of Raja Yoga
Compiled by the Sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras, the Eight Limbs are a progressive series of steps or disciplines which purify the body and mind, ultimately leading the yogi to enlightenment.

1) Yamas
The yamas, or restraints are divided into five moral injunctions, aimed at destroying the lower nature : non-violence; truthfulness in word, thought and deed; non-stealing; moderation in all things; and non-possessiveness.

2) Niyamas
The niyamas or observances are also divided into five. Fostering positive qualities, they consist of : purity; contentment; austerity; study of the sacred texts; and constantly living with an awareness of the Divine Presence.

3) Asanas
Asanas or postures forms the first half of the sub-division of Raja Yoga known as Hatha Yoga.

4) Pranayama
The regulation of the breath - forms the second half of Hatha Yoga.

5) Pratyahara
The yogic practice of turning the mind to introspection by voluntarily shutting out distractions provided by the senses.

6) Dharana
Concentration - leads to dhyana.

7) Dhyana
Meditation - culminates in samadhi

8) Samadhi
Superconsciousness - the highest stage in meditation, in which a person experiences oneness with the universe.